AGA Phoenix Chapter


National Promotions

If you are interested in taking the CGFM certification exam, study guides are still available. Send an email to and you will be contacted with information on availability.


What is CGFM?

CGFM is a professional certification recognizing the unique skills and special knowledge required of
today’s government financial managers. It covers governmental accounting, auditing, financial reporting,
internal controls and budgeting at the federal, state and local levels.
For details on CGFM, go to the CGFM Certification section on AGA National’s website.

Disclaimer: We hope the summary below is helpful, but please refer to AGA National’s site (link above) for up-to-date information.
As an AGA Phoenix Chapter member incentive, successful CGFM candidates can apply for
reimbursement of the application and examination costs. Study guides are also available to prepare
for the exam. Please contact our CGFM Committee Chair, Elisa Gin, at
Summary of Steps to Obtain CGFM

The Certified Government Financial Manager (CGFM) designation is the recognized professional credential
for accountants working in the governmental sector. If you are interested in pursuing CGFM, here is a step-by-
step guide on how you too can earn the CGFM designation. This information can also be found on

AGA National’s website at

Step 1 – Read the AGA’s Code of Ethics.

Step 2 – Apply for the CGFM Program. Submit an application form for the CGFM Program via internet, fax

or mail, including the nonrefundable application fee of $85. Fax or mail a copy of your transcripts (can be

unofficial) from an accredited college or university.

Step 3 – Eligibility Letter. Once your application, payment and degree documentation are received and

processed, the Office of Professional Certification will mail you an Eligibility Letter with instructions on how

to purchase your CGFM Examinations. You’ll have three years from the date your application was processed

to pass the three CGFM Examinations.

Step 4 – Work Verification. Submit a Verification of Government Financial Management Work Experience

form as soon as you have at least two years of professional-level experience in the government financial

management field. For more info, see the Professional Experience Requirement page at AGA National.

Step 5 – Studying for Examinations. You have several options, including classroom courses, study guides and

a reading resources list.

Step 6 – Examination Purchase. Following the instructions on your Eligibility Letter, schedule and purchase

the CGFM Examination(s) through the Pearson VUE website for AGA. Print the Test Order Receipt which

should include the Admission Policy and Testing Procedures. Examination fees are $109 for each of the three


Step 7 – Score Reporting and Retakes. After you complete an examination at a Pearson VUE Test Center,

you will immediately receive a pass/fail score on the computer. If you did not pass, there is a 30-day waiting

period before you can repurchase and retake that examination. If you fail the same exam more than once,

the waiting period is 90 days.

Step 8 – Award Letter. Once you pass all three CGFM Examinations, and your Verification of Government

Financial Management Work Experience form has been submitted and accepted, the Office of Professional

Certification will send you an award letter announcing your new CGFM designation. You can start using

the “CGFM” after your name only after you receive the official award letter from AGA. The letter should

arrive in approximately 2-3 weeks.

Step 9 – CGFM Certificate. A CGFM certificate will be mailed within 6-10 weeks of receiving the award letter.